Flood This Town Lyrics

There’s an island in the river

Where the willow trees grow
It was good enough for Cromwell, so it’s good enough for me
So there I’ll go

When the birds begin to circle
And the sharks are swimming round my door
I’ll find the tunnel, pull the lever
You won’t see me no more

There’s an island in my mind
I ain’t been there for so long
For days and days all we did was blaze
Singing, getting on

From Eel Pie Island to the Isle of Dogs
They’re back again
They’re wearing suits they bought a tie
But the hate remains their game

They’ll lose all the same

Put the barrier up
Trap a river full of sharks
Put it down
I want to flood this town

There’s an island in the river
Where the willow trees grow
It’s very good for hiding when you’re too tired
To fight the flow

But the time has gone for hiding
The time is now to join up again
Come swim with me against the tide
Cos I know your name

We’re one and the same

Pull the barrier down
I want to flood this town
A river of colour, we glint in the sun
A choice forever, we swim all as one

Leave a comment

Filed under Lyrics

Leave a Reply

